Winter break : A Chinese adventure

I’m writing this post (half asleep with sluggish red eyes) at Dio coffee shop in Baiyun airport, Guangzhou. I booked an ungodly morning flight. I finished my exams on Thursday, I had planned this out perfectly that as soon as I was done with exams I was to leave for travel.
Its winter for us now, and also one of the busiest time in China as the natives are to celebrate their New year (Spring festival), which last for about two weeks. So almost everywhere, from shops, airports to bus stations natives are traveling returning home to be with their families. The Chinese use the Zodiac cycle, with each year represented by an animal. As in the case 2015 is a Goat year. Last year was year of the Horse. There’s a lot of festivities that happen during this time, from eating dumplings to confetti, and written wishes on & lighting up lanterns.
I’ve said this before that I’ve always wanted to travel China. I would like to go to all the provinces, at least one city in each. So this year I start just that.

Author: Lwazi

A South African medical student living in China.

4 thoughts on “Winter break : A Chinese adventure”

Leave a comment